Chinese Food Review & CNY dinner

Good Morning readers! I hope it is not too late for me to wish you guys a very Happy 2017. How has your 21 days of 2017 been? I hope all good. 
Been a while I haven’t done any review,I am occupied with work and some other stuff,I am sorry 🙃.
I have been invited once again by Miri Marriott together with my fellow Sarawak Bloggers;Eileen,Petrus & Pei Pei for Chinese Food Review & CNY Dinner.

Me hiding among my friends and meet Ms.Chu,Marriot’s Cluster Asst. MarCom Mgr

We were all gathered at Zest Restaurant for some welcome drinks and catching up with the Marriott Executives,Yb Datuk Lee Kim Shin & Dato Sebastian Ting. I am really delighted to meet again the familiar faces and felt awesome that the GM, Mr Marc Cosyns still remembers me (HAHAH)

New Executive Sous Chef,Chef Khoo showcasing his handcrafted Yee Sang


Marriott also debut their new Executive Sous Chef,Chef Khoo Seng Keong (picture above). His culinary experience of more than 30 years sums up in all his creation for this Chinese New Year dishes.

He is very specific(mind you im am searching high and low for the word) about his handcrafted Yee Sang,gave us the history and how Yee Sang is prepared. As usual,being curious,we asked him alot of questions regarding Yee Sang as the dish were very interesting and for sure every bits of it has its own meaning.


Yee Sang,a must have opening dish for Chinese New Year,colourful and beautifulThe list of dishes to be served during Prosperity & Fortune buffet dinner Well,lets go one by one of the dishes SHALL WE? Hahahaha i love food tasting. So here we go!

Chicken Consomme with Dry Scallop & Waterchestnut



1) Chicken Consomme with Dry Scallop & Waterchesnut

My first impression on this soup was,”wow,intersting” and my first sip of the soup,it brings me back to my childhood. My late mom’s soup tasted like this and I was so excited finishing it off. The crunchiness of waterchestnut,the soft n tender chicken n scallop,I WANT THE RECIPE PLEASE CHEF LOL

Braised Chicken with Supreme Chinese Herbs & Korean Ginseng

2) Braised Chicken with Supreme Chinese Herbs & Korean Ginseng

This Braised chicken is the BOMB! My second favourite dish and why I said this is my fav,the meat was so tender & soft,all the herbs perfectly in sync and the most important is,the ginseng doesnt overpower all of the ingredients.👍🏿👍🏿👍🏿👍🏿

Two flavour prawn dish combination

3) Two flavor Prawn Dish Combination.

For me,this dish,I just can say its a normal everyday-I-can-get dish. Not much of a prawn fan but the presentation was not that bad at all. 

Steamed Chinese Pomfret “Teow Chew” Style

4) Steamed Chinese Pomfret “Teow Chew” Style

I think this pomfret fish is chinese. (Dry joke im so sorry) Pomfret is always my favourite fish because of its’ tender and sweet meat. And in my household,pomfret is some kind of luxury fish due to its’ market price. Upon tasting this dish,i like how it presented,subtle taste and homey kind of feeling. 

Stir Fried Assorted Vegetables with Cashew Nuts


5) Stir Fried Assorted Vegetables with Cashew Nuts

Ahhh vegetables…hahaha I am very picky when it comes to vegetables. In my opinion,this dish more to like homecook vege style. The cashew nuts gave the dish a nutty notes and the crunchiness of the noodles gave a lil bit of different ways to eat vege. 

Steamed Rice in Lotus Leaf

6) Steamed Rice in Lotus Leaf

Since it was the last dish presented, I was full so I just take little rice on my plate. The taste was okay and very filling I should say

Chilled Sweetened Avocado & Mango Cream accompanied with Pamelo



7) Chilled Sweetened Avocado & Mango Cream accompanied with Pamelo

Dessert at last. Very fusion dessert I must say. The yin and yang touch are obvious as you can see in the picture. And hint of Pamelo beads in between. Too sweet though but for me it was very kind interesting dessert for everyone.

There you go readers! My personal review on special chinese new year dishes. 

For those who are interested on bringing your friends and family,the bookings are already open and you may call Miri Marriott at 085-421121 for more info and reservations. Better make it fast. And oh the price are RM1188++ per table very reasonable price and very good number😎😎.

Thats the end of it guys! See you on my next review!

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

