Borneo Jazz Festival 12th Edition

IT’S ALREADY BEEN WEEKS I AM STILL HAVING THE POST JAZZ WITHDRAWAL SYMPTOM

hey y’all! Have you been waiting for my blogpost on the recent Jazz Festival? Without further ado, LESGOH and read!

 

Last week I was invited for the second time covering 12th edition of Borneo Jazz Festival. I was stoked and feeling rather important somehow because this is an International event I was covering under the wings of Sarawak Bloggers Society.

I grew up listening to many kinds of music,my dad and my brothers are my biggest influence and I am grateful for that. My life revolves around music although I can’t play a single musical instruments. HAHA.

ENOUGH ABOUT ME, LETS TALK ABOUT BORNEO JAZZ.

Every year,Borneo Jazz has been doing some CSR Project in Miri,last year was tree planting (you can go to my last year’s blogpost) and this year was a bit different; we had Beach Cleaning at Luak Esplanade. Miri has been blessed with wonderful beaches, I always love to hang around the beaches sans the sandflies of course LOL. Nothing much to clean at the beach since it was on weekdays,probably we should go on the weekends,you can really see litters everywhere.

 

Charlie’s Angels must have pose.

 

Photo Courtesy of Sarawak Tourism Board

 

MY TAKE ON THE PERFORMERS (MY FAVOURITES)

Since there were 12 performers this year, I am just going to highlight to you 3 of my FAVOURITES okay? Artistic Director Yeoh Jun Lin, has always been a maestro and I salute her for always bringing the best for Borneo Jazz year in year out. She has her eyes on every details about who will be performing,are the performers going to hype up the crowd? She is awesome in her field.

 

Zuhaili Zuhairi of ASWARA

This guy,had me glued at the press pit for a moment. His mesmerizing performance just blew me away. Doing some covers of the late P.Ramlee, he sure nailed it in his own way. I am truly proud to see young people getting interested in playing music and Borneo Jazz is an awesome platform for young performers like him and his bandmates to gain experience as well as having fun mingling with other international performers. Oh well of course I must have a selfie with Zuhairi ( I think he is scared of me bause I’m loud like that LOL)

photo by LadyBird Eileen

Idang Rasjidi of  Indonesia

DSC_0394
photo by me
He is the GODFATHER of Jazz in Indonesia,he is the familiar faces of Java Jazz ( one of the famous Jazz Fest in Indonesia) During the press conference, I am moved to ask him one simple question;which is ” How has the youth in Indonesia embracing Jazz music?” His answer was simple, We need to tell the youth that Jazz is a good music. We (the musicians) have to reach out to the youth no matter where they are,especially in the KAMPUNG ( village). It has to be the musicians come to every place to play music and expose the jazz music. No wonder Indonesia has at least 64 Jazz events (yes 64 seriously).

He performed with Idang Rasjidi Syndicate,which his 2 sons were the drummer & the bassist and I must say, I was really blown away by their energy that night.

LAILA BIALI (Canada)

She is BEAUTIFUL IN PERSON! I Can’t help but to take selfies with her after the press conference.

img_6112
me,Alyssa & Laila
She performed Coldplay’s Yellow with a jazzy touch which was SUPERB and got me to sing along with her. Originally she wasn’t into Jazz genre because she was majoring in classical music that explain on the night she performed I still can hear her classical influence in few of her numbers.
 

Osaka Monaurail


The best is always the last! That is how Borneo Jazz Festival keep the crowd hype and the momentum going. This band is the bomb! They bring back the 60’s  James Brown vibe to the fest,heavy funk influence that makes the crowd wants more even before and during their performance it was slightly drizzling and windy.

 

MY PERSONAL THOUGHTS 

Borneo Jazz Festival has always been the festival I always look forward to go. I hope that it will continue to be in Miri for many years to come. I always had fun working along with Sarawak Tourism Board and grateful for the opportunities given by them. Looking forward for next year!


Photo by Alyssa.

Jazz is universal and humble,let’s make it that way. Forever and always.

 

MORE SNAPSHOTS DURING THE 2- DAY FEST




 Photos by me & AlyssaPhotos by me & Alyssa

PHOTOS ARE ALL MINE UNLESS STATED OTHERWISE.
Till then,

XOXO
 

2 thoughts on “Borneo Jazz Festival 12th Edition

  1. Great write up, and lovely pictures! Thanks for sharing them with us 😊 It’s so good to meet both you and Eileen this year, and such an honour to work with you both. Also, pic kecundang was epic! Hahaha

Leave a Reply

